Annie's Book Stop of Worcester

The little bookstore that's bigger on the inside

Happy Holiday Shopping Guide! Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester, the “bigger on the inside” bookstore at 65 James Street, is happy to present our 2018 recommendations of gifts for the winter holidays.

This year we have some very special boxed sets of books for middle readers and teens. For middle readers mystery sets seem to be popular. An old favorite, and one that Disney made famous in the movies, is called Great Mouse Detective by Eve Titus. They are about a mouse living in the basement of Sherlock Holmes’ Baker Street home who becomes a great detective himself! The Great Mouse Detective Crumbs and Clues Collection include the books: Basil of Baker Street; Basil and the Cave of Cats; Basil in Mexico; Basil in the Wild West; and Basil and the Lost Colony, each book including a mystery to solve.

Great Mouse Detective

Another mystery and adventure collection we have is called The Boxcar Children Books 1-4. It has also been made famous by the big screen, in two movies, made about the first two books.If you’d like to start a child out on this series, this is the set to get them. It is about four orphans who make their home in a boxcar, and the adventures they have and mysteries they solve. The books in the series are: #1, The Boxcar Children; #2, Surprise Island; #3, The Yellow House Mystery; and #4, Mystery Ranch.

The Boxcar Children Books 1-4

The Wings of Fire series by Tui T. Sutherland is extremely popular with the middle readers. It is a story of dragons, prophesy, friendship, and saving the world. Not easy for five dragonets, who spend a lot of time getting themselves into a great deal of danger! For those fantasy readers on your gift list, this set is a sure winner. The books in this set are: The Dragonet Prophecy;The Lost Heir; The Hidden Kingdom; The Dark Secret; and The Brightest Night.

Wings of Fire

For our teen readers, we have several fantasy boxed sets. Our first recommendation is The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson. The Remnant Chronicles Boxed Set includes the following paperback books: The Kiss of Deception, The Heart of Betrayal, and The Beauty of Darkness. The story is about Princess Lia, a very independent young woman who flees from her kingdom to avoid an arranged marriage, among other things. There is a love interest (who happens to be the young Prince she was fleeing from), an assassin (who also saves her life), betrayal, impending war, great evil to face, impossible odds to overcome, and sacrifices to be made. All in these three books. She’s a great female heroine.

The Remnant Chronicles

The Six of Crows Duology by Leigh Bardugo is another epic fantasy for Teens about six dangerous criminals working a deadly heist that could make them rich beyond their wildest dreams. Aside from that, they are saving a world – if they don’t kill each other first.  The two books in this boxed set Duology are: Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom.

The Six of Crows

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer are a retelling of many fairy tales in a futuristic setting, and in the last book, they all wonderfully get connected together. There are many changes to the characters and stories, though. They are fun twisted tales, and the characters may end up saving Winter’s kingdom, and possibly the world. The books in this set are: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Fairest: Levana’s Story, Stars Above (a collection of stories set in the Lunar Chronicles universe), and the epic conclusion, Winter.

The Lunar Chronicles

From all of us at Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester, have a great holiday season, and thank you for making our shelves your destination.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: