Annie's Book Stop of Worcester

The little bookstore that's bigger on the inside

 

This week there are many non-fiction books being unpacked at Annie’s Book Stop of Worcester (as well as some Fiction books), but I thought that the non-fiction books needed to be given a bit of a plug. Included in this week’s selection. We have several humorous books, a few biographical (or autobiographical) books, a book related to music, one related to television, and another containing incredible photography. Have fun!

 

 

 

HUMOR:

 

 

 

A HARD KICK IN THE NUTS: WHAT I’VE LEARNED FROM A LIFETIME OF TERRIBLE DECISIONS by Stephen Steve-O Glover with David Peisner  

 

 

Stephen “Steve-O” Glover—social media icon, comedy-touring stalwart, and star of Jackass—delivers a hilarious and practical guide to recovery, relationships, career, and how to keep thriving long after you should be dead.

 

 

 

 

IS THERE BACON IN HEAVEN by Ali Hassan

 

 

For fans of Russell Peters, Trevor Noah, and Mark Critch comes a hilarious debut memoir about family, pursuing our passions, and figuring out who we are, by stand-up comedian and popular CBC host, Ali Hassan.

 

 

In this heartfelt and funny memoir, based on his hit stand-up comedy, Hassan shares his lifelong journey to becoming a “cultural Muslim”—learning to walk the line of embracing his heritage while following his passions and being true to himself. From failing to learn Arabic—or much of anything—in Sunday school and visiting family in Pakistan who mocked him relentlessly, to discovering the wonders of pepperoni as a teenager and being a celebrity judge at Ribfest, he finds himself in compromising situations that challenge his beliefs and identity.

 

 

Now, as a father of four, he has to answer his children’s questions and try to explain his point of view. But he can’t just “give them” an identity as a cultural Muslim. Sharing his story is the next best thing.

 

 

 

 

SOLUTIONS AND OTHER PROBLEMS by Allie Brosh

 

 

Allie Brosh—beloved author and artist of the extraordinary #1 New York Times bestseller Hyperbole and a Half—returns with a long-awaited collection of “hilarious and slyly poignant” (People), autobiographical, illustrated essays.

 

 

Solutions and Other Problems includes humorous stories from Allie Brosh’s childhood; the adventures of her very bad animals; merciless dissection of her own character flaws; incisive essays on grief, loneliness, and powerlessness; as well as reflections on the absurdity of modern life. “No one sums up the hilarity, devastation, and bizarreness of life quite like comic artist and blogger Allie Brosh” (NPR).

 

 

This full-color, beautifully illustrated edition features all-new material with more than 1,600 pieces of art. Solutions and Other Problems marks the return of a beloved American humorist who has “the observational skills of a scientist, the creativity of an artist, and the wit of a comedian” (Bill Gates).

 

 

 

 

BIOGRAPHIES/MEMOIRS

 

 

 

GOD, FAMILY, COUNTRY: A MEMOIR by Craig Morgan

 

 

Country music icon, army veteran, father, outdoorsman—Craig Morgan shares all aspects of his life, revealing stories even his most avid fans don’t know.

 

 

Written with Jim DeFelice, author of the #1 New York Times bestseller American Sniper.

 

 

 

 

STAY TRUE: A MEMOIR by Hsu Hsu

 

 

From the New Yorker staff writer Hua Hsu, a gripping memoir on friendship, grief, the search for self, and the solace that can be found through art.

 

 

In the eyes of eighteen-year-old Hua Hsu, the problem with Ken—with his passion for Dave Matthews, Abercrombie & Fitch, and his fraternity—is that he is exactly like everyone else. The only thing Hua and Ken have in common is that, however they engage with it, American culture doesn’t seem to have a place for either of them.

 

 

But despite his first impressions, Hua and Ken become friends, a friendship built on late-night conversations over cigarettes, long drives along the California coast, and the successes and humiliations of everyday college life. And then violently, senselessly, Ken is gone, killed in a carjacking, not even three years after the day they first meet.

 

 

Determined to hold on to all that was left of one of his closest friends—his memories—Hua turned to writing. Stay True is the book he’s been working on ever since. A coming-of-age story that details both the ordinary and extraordinary, Stay True is a bracing memoir about growing up, and about moving through the world in search of meaning and belonging.

 

 

 

 

TELEVISION:

 

 

 

LIVE WIRE: LONG-WINDED SHORT STORIES by Kelly Ripa 

 

 

A sharp, funny, and honest collection of real-life stories from Kelly Ripa, showing the many dimensions and crackling wit of the beloved daytime talk show host.

 

 

 

 

MUSIC:

 

 

 

THE SPORTY ONE: MY LIFE AS A SPICE GIRL by Mel Chisholm 

 

 

An intimate memoir from international pop star Melanie Chisholm–better known as Mel C. or Sporty Spice–chronicling her trajectory from small-town girl to overnight icon as part of the Spice Girls.

 

 

 

 

ART/PHOTOGRAPHY:

 

 

THE WEST WING AND BEYOND: WHAT I SAW INSIDE THE PRESIDENCY by Pete Souza

 

 

Go behind the scenes of the West Wing—into the Oval Office and Situation Room, aboard Air Force One, and beyond—with #1 bestselling author and former presidential photographer Pete Souza.

 

 

Pete Souza has spent more time in the Oval Office than almost any person in history. During the Obama administration alone, Souza was inside the presidential bubble for more than 25,000 hours and made nearly 2 million photographs. The result is an unprecedented view of how our democracy really works.

 

 

 

The West Wing and Beyond takes you behind the scenes of consequential moments and traditions with the people who define our nation’s highest office—from the senior White House staff to the Oval Office valets. It delivers new insights into the role of the Secret Service, the seriousness of decisive meetings in the West Wing, and even some fun moments aboard Air Force One.

 

 

Brimming with gorgeous photographs paired with fascinating storytelling, The West Wing and Beyond offers a one-of-a-kind look into the personalities, intrigues, and fascinating details that comprise the modern presidency. It is an essential book for every citizen who believes in American democracy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

As always, thank you for making our shelves your destination.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: