Annie's Book Stop of Worcester

The little bookstore that's bigger on the inside

Here at our little bookstore that’s bigger on the inside, we’d like to introduce two book series that tie in with DOCTOR WHO, the world’s longest-running science fiction serial, and that focus on the longest-running companion, as well as one of his family members.

We’re talking about Brigadier Alistair Gordon Lethbridge-Stewart, of course, as well as his enterprising granddaughter Lucy Wilson.

Lethbridge-Stewart is series of novels set after the 1968 Doctor Who serial The Web of Fear, and based on the characters and concepts created by Mervyn Haisman & Henry Lincoln. The series is published by Candy Jar Books, and fully licensed by the executor of the Haisman Literary Estate, Hannah Haisman, and endorsed by Henry Lincoln.

It is primarily centered around the characters of Alistair Lethbridge-Stewart, who was at the time of The Web of Fear 
a colonel in the Scots Guards, and Anne Travers (also introduced in The Web of Fear), and is set during the four-year gap between that serial and The Invasion, which saw Lethbridge-Stewart reunited with the Doctor and promoted to brigadier and head of the UK branch of UNIT.  The character continued in Doctor Who as a semi-regular from 1970 to 1975, and made many return appearances throughout Doctor Who‘s history. He is probably the most well-known character next to the Doctor, and a bona-fide legend of the Doctor Who universe. 

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries focus on the Brigadier’s granddaughter and her friends who investigate uncanny and out-of-this-world occurrences right here on Earth.

Lucy Wilson doesn’t want to move from London to sleepy South Wales. But when she arrives at her new seaside home, it doesn’t appear to be as boring as she expected. Ogmore-by-Sea seems to be under the control of a mysterious and powerful force. But why is Lucy its target? And why, when students at her new school start to disappear, does no one seem to care? With the help of her new friend Hobo, Lucy Wilson must assume the mantle of her grandfather, the legendary Brigadier Lethbridge-Stewart, and defeat an invisible enemy before it’s too late.

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries
 is a Lethbridge-Stewart spin-off adventure and featured licensed characters created for Doctor Who by Mervyn Haisman and Henry Lincoln. Fans of the television series THE SARAH JANE ADVENTURES will love Lucy and her intrepid friends.

Take a peek at these two book series this holiday season; we think you’ll be hooked on them as much as our staff is!

Thank you, as always, for making our shelves your destination.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: